THE SPUR TASTER

How do we perceive differing tastes?

It is essentially the tongue that houses very specialised sensors, "the Tastebuds" home in on the molecules of many tastes derived from food and drink. A system emanates, so elaborate that it allows for an almost limitless diversity.

From the smell directly perceived by the nose and from the aroma set free during mastication, but also sensations provoked by tactile properties (biting, chewing, swallowing, refreshing, revitalising...), thermal properties (hot, cold) of the food as well as the sensation in the mouth, specifically the perceived feeling when a fatty substance covers the tongue.

 

A complex alchemy :
The sense of taste is a sophisticated admixture of different sensations provoked by savour, smell, aroma, the texture and the tactile aspects of food and drink (fizzy, flat, cold and hot).

The tongue, the nose and also the teeth add to the creation of the sensory message.

The sensory message which is born in our tastebuds arrives in various zones of our cerebral cortex.

Especially in the specialised area, the analysis of information to do with taste « the taste cortex ».

The taste of food is a sensation that is born in the tastebuds once the food is in the mouth. Our mouth is also sensitive to smells.
Explanation : when the food is being masticated in the oral cavity, molecules of smell are liberated and find their way by the back of the throat to the nasal cavity in which they stimulate the olfactory sensors. It’s not surprising that we mix up perceptions of taste and smell.

Taste can become educated and refined after complex experiments that lead to it. Have good taste ! This question that you have had to ask yourselves, and that not only about the colour of your ties or your underwear.

4 primary tastes :

Salty.
Sweet.
Bitter.
Acidic.

Examples :

a) Spices and pepper activate nerve endings of pain.

b) Menthol is dissolved in saliva, taking away some energy. The mouth loses a little heat and that stimulates the sensors of cold.

c) Chocolate on the tongue of a baby and its face becomes calm.

TRICKERY ! Nowadays taste is spread everywhere

Colouring.
Additives.
Flavouring : natural/artificial/synthetic.
Sweeteners.

They are all-pervasive, not worthy to be recommended. That leads to an upset of the brain. The brain doesn’t know where it is. All these chemical additives in food and then in certain chocolates the era of excess weight is favoured. It is not only fat, sugar or lack of exercise that leads to excess weight.

Flavourings allow for compensation in non-fat produce. Be careful ! « Light « chocolate can turn out to be richer in fat than normal chocolate. Non sugar items simply mean without saccharin et not without glucid.

Certain processes of manufacture determine the taste, it’s for that reason that a flavouring is added to the preparation to satisfy the consumer.
Watch out for substances which are addictive. More than 3000 exist. They are very often used to hide the degradation of the taste due to the many long transformations that take place in the food. This deceit threatens to upset our taste and make us used to a chemical taste.

All the chemicals pass through the intestines, blood and brain. Therefore a direct impact on the brain. Food sustains important transformations that modify its taste, texture, colour...In order to remedy this the food scientists resort to the use of all sorts of additives : the more the product is processed the more the use of additives is imperative.

Against all these bad ingredients that one can find in certain chocolates and elsewhere : When one eats well, one lives a little better and a little longer.

SUPER GOÛTEUR

COMMENT PERÇOIT-ON LES SAVEURS ?

C'est au niveau de la langue que des récépteurs hautement spécialisés, "Les Bourgeons du Goût" captent les molécules des multiples saveurs alimentaires. Un système si élaboré qu'il permet de distinguer une diversité quasi illimitée.

De l'odeur directement perçue par le nez,et de l'arôme libérée pendant la mastication mais aussi des sensations provoquées par les propriétés tactiles (piquant, croquant, rafraîchissant, astringent, irritant... ) et thermiques (chaud, froid) de l'aliment ainsi que sa sensation en bouche c'est-à-dire la sensation perçue quand une substance grasse recouvre la langue.

 

Une alchimie complexe :
Le goût est un mélange sophistiqué de diverses sensations provoquées par la saveur, l'odeur, l'arôme, la texture et les aspects tactile (pétillant, irritant, frais et thermique de l'aliment).

La langue, le nez mais aussi les dents contribuent à créer le message sensoriel.

Le message sensoriel qui naît dans nos papilles arrive dans différentes zones de notre cortex cérébral.

Surtout dans la région spécialisée dans l'analyse des informations gustatives » le cortex gustatif ».

La saveur d'un aliment est la sensation qui naît au niveau des papilles une fois l'aliment dans la bouche. Notre bouche aussi est sensible aux odeurs. Explication : lorsque l'aliment est soumis à la mastication dans la cavité buccale, des molécules odorantes s'en libèrent et transitent par l'arrière-gorge jusqu'à la cavité nasale, où elles stimulent les récepteurs olfactifs. Pas étonnant que nous mélangions perceptions gustatives et olfactives.

Le goût s'éduque et s'affine au gré des expériences complexes qui le constituent. Ayez bon goût ! Cette question, vous vous l'êtes forcément posée, et pas seulement  pour ce qui est de la couleur de vos cravates ou de vos sous-vêtements.

4 saveurs primaires :

Le salé.
Le sucré.
L'amer.
L'acide.

Exemples :

a) Les piments et le poivre activent des terminaisons de la douleur.

b) Le menthol lui se dissout dans la salive en prélevant de l'énergie.La bouche perd un peu de chaleur ce qui stimule les récepteurs du froid.

c) Du chocolat sur la langue d'un bébé et son visage aussitôt s'apaise

IMPOSTURE ! Aujourd'hui on met du goût partout

Colorants.
Additifs.
Arômes: Naturels/Artificiels/Synthétiques.
Edulcorants.

Ils sont envahissants et peu recommendables. Ca participe à perturber le cerveau. Le cerveau ne s'y reconnaît plus. Tous ces ajouts chimiques dans l'alimentation et donc dans certains chocolats favorisent l'ère de surpoids. Ce n'est pas uniquement le gras, le sucré ou le manque d'activité physique qui favorisent le surpoids.

Les arômes permettent de compenser dans des produits allégés.Méfiance ! Le chocolat « light « peut se retrouver plus riche en graisse que le chocolat normal. Le sans sucre signifie simplement sans saccharose et non sans glucides.

Certains processus de fabrication déterminent le goût, c'est pour cette raison qu'un arôme est rajouté à la préparation pour satisfaire le consommateur. Attention substance qui croi l'addiction. Il en existe plus de 3000. Ils sont trés largement utilisés pour masquer la dégradation du goût due aux longues et nombreuses transformations de l'aliment.Cette tromperie risque de perturber notre goût avec un risque de s'habituer au goût chimique.

Tous ces produits chimiques passent par les intestins, le sang et le cerveau. Donc impact direct sur le cerveau. Les aliments subissent d'importantes transformations modifiant leur goût, texture, couleur... Pour y remédier les ingénieurs de l'agroalimentaire ont recours aux additifs de toutes sortes: plus un produit est élaboré, plus l'utilisation des additifs est impérative.

Contre tous ces mauvais ingrédients que l'on peut trouver dans certains chocolats et ailleurs : Quand on mange bien, on vit un peu mieux et plus longtemps.