DEFENDANT RISE

Scene 1 / LAWCOURTS / PARIS / INSIDE DAYTIME

Ludovic, athletic, short-haired, with a lively look in his eye, smiling and relaxed is standing in the court. He is putting all his energy into battling for his defence.

 

The prosecutor :
Here are the principal charges against you. Headaches, acne, constipation, cholesterol, liver complaints...Compulsive and excessive overconsumption. Continually pushing back the limits in your search for stronger and stronger feelings.

Ludovic :
Taken in reasonable amounts, Chocolate doesn't entail any hepatic change and gives no liver complaints.

The judge :
Such a kind young man. Behind your apparently calm exterior there lies an ogre ready to devour everything.

Ludovic :
I have never had abdominal pains, headaches. Even less agitation or aggressiveness. My cholesterol level ? Bad of course (LDL) it is low. Chocolate produces euphoric and energy-giving substances that activate natureís pleasure circuit. I admit that I need a limiting mechanism because I can go beyond the limits.

The judge :
By going beyond the limits you become marginal and you end up in prison!

Ludovic :
I think that it is normal to test oneís limits. I refute the fact of my supposed radical nature. You are trying to blacken my character. You are making a travesty out of the reality of good chocolate.

The prosecutor :
A person can become a killer under the influence of many factors.

Ludovic :
Yes, the drug addict needs blood money, not I! If I benefit from the strength and all the other qualities of good chocolate, what harm have I done? The desire for good chocolate is not only due to its taste and its flavour but also to a feeling of well-being. Good chocolate is my passion, now you know all my secrets.

The prosecutor :
A person who is incapable of fixing limits for himself will of necessity seek them in reality...Perilous behaviour, drug abuse...

Ludovic :
My preferences are a ginger-flavoured black chocolate filling, a filling flavoured with a Timor pepper infusion..I am obsessed by the tempting bait of good chocolate and excited by the perfume it emits. In any case the pleasure is always suspect. You havenít a good sense of taste. You have never eaten anything good !

The judge (Holding a file in his hands, he takes a sheet of paper out of it) :
Before me I have a list of declarations that you have made. The need to go in for tender brutality, defy the taboo. Chocolate excites your senses.

Ludovic :
Itís a biochemical reaction that frees catecholamines by the hypothalamus. The latter produces endorphins, that is to say hormones that cause euphoric sensations. One of the hormones is called phenylethylamine which is a natural amphetamine.

The judge :
Donít try to exonerate yourself by your words.

Ludovic :
It is as I say. Cocoa contains large quantities of phenylethylamine.

The prosecutor :
Sorcerer with a boundless imagination.

Ludovic :
I always try to argue, itís my nature. Nobody will care less about your opinion if you donít express it.

The prosecutor :
You are blinded by the pursuit of your desires. Addiction creates overconsumption.

Ludovic :
Alcohol and cigarettes kill! Not good chocolate!

The prosecutor (opens a file):
Precisely, I shall return to something that I find interesting...You have declared that you were addicted to chocolate, The attributes of virility and domination...A desire for black chocolate..And you were invaded by a brutal physical and psychological pain.

Ludovic :
What are you afraid of?

The prosecutor :
I shall continue...Donít forget that your mouth is a very ambivalent part of your body. A carefree way of life in which sex and chocolate combine.

Ludovic :
Really when I listen to you, I have the impression that you donít have any pleasure. Eating good chocolate is good. I donít seduce with sportscars, a ĎPlatinumí card. I donít wear Armani suits. I donít surf on a mountain of dollars. Iím an adventurer in taste.

The prosecutor :
In spite of all your best intentions...

Ludovic :
Either you donít like good chocolate, and thatís very sad for you, or your sensory stimulations are not exaggerated enough ! Iím an aesthete of tasting.

The judge :
The court is adjourned. It will reconvene later.

ACCUSÉ, LEVEZ-VOUS !

SCENE 1 / PALAIS DE JUSTICE / PARIS / INTERIEUR JOUR

Ludovic, sportif, cheveux courts, regard vif, souriant et détendu est debout dans le prétoire. Très sur de lui, il répond aux accusations. Il jette toutes ses forces dans la bataille pour se défendre.

 

L'avocat général :
Voici les charges reconnues contre vous. Migraines, acné, constipation, mauvais cholestérol, crise de foie... Surconsommation compulsive et excessive. Repousser sans cesse vos limites à la recherche de sensations toujours plus fortes.

Ludovic :
Pris en quantité raisonnable, le bon Chocolat n'entraîne aucune modification hépathique et ne donne pas de crise de foie.

Le juge :
Un si gentil jeune homme. Derrière votre tranquillité apparente se cache un ogre prêt à tout dévorer. Vous êtes un extrémiste !

Ludovic :
Je n'ai jamais eu de douleurs abdominales, de maux de tête. Encore moins d'agitation ou d'agressivité. Mon taux de cholestérol ? le mauvais bien-sûr (LDL) il est bas. Le bon chocolat produit des substances euphorisantes et énergétiques qui activent le circuit naturel du plaisir. Je l'avoue, j'ai besoin d'un limitateur car je peux dépasser les bornes.

Le juge :
En franchissant les limites, on devient marginal et on fini en prison!

Ludovic :
Je pense qu'il est normal de tester ses limites. Je démens ma prétendue radicalité. Vous cherchez à noicir ma personnalité. Vous travestissez la réalité du bon chocolat.

L'avocat général :
Un individu devient un tueur sous l'influence de nombreux facteurs.

Ludovic :
Oui le drogué a besoin de l'argent du sang , pas moi! Profiter de la force et de toutes les qualités du bon chocolat , quel mal ai-je fait ?Le désir du bon chocolat n'est pas seulement dû à son goût, son arôme mais aussi à un sentiment de bien-être. Le bon chocolat est ma passion, maintenant vous connaissez tous mes secrets.

L'avocat général :
Un individu incapable de se donner des limites va nécessairement les chercher dans le réel...Conduites à risques, toxicomanie...

Ludovic :
Mes préférés une ganache noire au gingembre, une ganache parfumée d'une infusion du poivre du Timor. . Je suis obsédé par l'appât du bon chocolat et excité par l'odeur qu'il dégage. De toute façon le plaisir est toujours suspect. Vous n'avez pas un bon palet. Vous n'avez jamais rien mangé de bon!

Le juge (tient dans ses mains un dossier,il en extrait une feuille) :
J'ai sous les yeux toute une série de déclaration que vous avez faîtes. Besoin d'entrer dans une tendre brutalité. Offrez-vous un grand frisson. Le chocolat excite mes sens.

Ludovic :
C'est une réaction biochimique qui libère des cathécholamines par l'hypotalamus. Celui ci produit des endorphines c'est-à-dire des hormones euphorisantes. L'une d'elles s'appelle la phényléthylamine qui est une amphétamine naturelle.

Le juge :
Ne cherchez pas à vous exonérer de vos paroles!

Ludovic :
Exact.Le cacao contient de grandes quantités de phényléthylamine.

L'avocat général :
Ensorceleur à l'imagination débordante.

Ludovic :
J'essaie toujours d'argumenter, c'est ma nature.Personne ne se souciera de votre avis si vous ne l'exprimez pas.

L'avocat général :
Vous êtes aveuglé par la poursuite de vos désirs. L'addiction crée la surconsommation.

Ludovic :
L'alcool et la cigarette tuent ! Pas le bon chocolat!

L'avocat général (ouvre un classeur):
Précisément, je vais revenir à quelque chose qui m'intéresse...Je cite, le chocolat une bombe qui transformerait le négatif par le positif. Les attributs de la virilité et de la domination...Chocolat noir désir.. Et que vous étiez envahi par une douleur brutale physique et psychologique.

Ludovic :
De quoi avez-vous peur ?

L'avocat général :
Je continue...N'oubliez-pas que votre bouche est une partie de votre corps très ambivalente.Une vie insouciante où chocolat et sexe se confondent.

Ludovic :
Vraiment quand je vous écoute, j'ai l'impression que vous n'avez pas de plaisir. Manger du bon chocolat c'est bon. Je ne sédui pas avec des voitures de sports, la carte "Platinum".Je ne porte pas des costumes Armani. Je ne surfe pas sur une montagne de dollars. Je suis un aventurier du goût.

L'avocat général :
Malgré toutes vos meilleurs intentions...

Ludovic :
Soit vous n'aimez pas le bon chocolat, et c'est bien triste pour vous. Soit vos stimulations sensorielles ne sont pas assez exacerbées! Je suis un esthète de la dégustation.

Le juge :
L'audience est suspendue. Elle reprendra plus tard.